WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Default What was so great about the "old days"?

Hi everyone,

I lurk here quite a bit and pretty often I see someone mention how they miss the AT "back in the old days". Usually referring to the 80's up through the late 90's. Unfortunately, I graduated high school in '99 so I didn't have much of a chance to hike the AT during that time. What was so different back then? Was it because there were no cell phones, Kindles, trail maintenance/angels? Less yuppies? Or was it better just because it was the "old days" by reason of nostalgia??

Ryan

Images

Nothing we were younger.

Images

You did miss the crack epidemic and aids though.

Quote Originally Posted by hikerboy57 View Post
    You did miss the crack epidemic and aids though.
    But, I didn't miss out on MC Hammer and Milli Vanilli. Eeeek.

Ryan

Images

Nothing we were younger.
    Thats it right there. We were kids then. Hiking the AT for the first time as a kid in the 80s was a wonderful experience. I'll admit that part of the reason for my hiking today is to reconnect with that time in my life.
    igne et ferrum est potentas
    "In the beginning, all America was Virginia." -​William Byrd

Images

the good old days: wwii, then korea, cuban missile crisis, vietnam, civil rights protests , riots, tear gas, gas lines, wage and price freeze, massive inflation, high interest rates---it was great!!!

we were younger.

Some days, it's not worth chewing through the restraints.

We did stuff, rather than type about doing stuff.

a lot less people. no information overload (internet, books, videos) no hiker feeds every road crossing. just a simpler time

Quote Originally Posted by Deadeye View Post