WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Default Crampons or snowshoes or both?

As I said in one of my other posts I'm probably going to do part of the CDT in winter and I'm currently mulling over what to bring for snow crossing (it should be noted I have zero experience winter hiking, I'm going to start training this year). Right now I'm looking at http://cascadedesigns.com/msr/snowsh...ascent/product and http://hillsound.com/2products/trail_crampon_pro.php because they seem to be the lightest and most reliable I can find. Is there a reason I should carry both or can the snow shoe crampons handle what I need.

Getting out as much as I can..which is never enough. :) Mags's Avatar

Which part? Besides snow conditions, you have to watch out for avalanche conditions, too esp in Colorado.
    Paul "Mags" Magnanti
    http://pmags.com
    Twitter: @pmagsco
    Facebook: pmagsblog

The true harvest of my life is intangible...a little stardust caught,a portion of the rainbow I have clutched -Thoreau

Wyoming and montana.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by Timinator View Post
    As I said in one of my other posts I'm probably going to do part of the CDT in winter and I'm currently mulling over what to bring for snow crossing (it should be noted I have zero experience winter hiking, I'm going to start training this year). Right now I'm looking at http://cascadedesigns.com/msr/snowsh...ascent/product and http://hillsound.com/2products/trail_crampon_pro.php because they seem to be the lightest and most reliable I can find. Is there a reason I should carry both or can the snow shoe crampons handle what I need.
    You really need to get winter hiking/backpacking/mountaineering experience before you try this.