WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Post Appalachian Trail Shelters - Architecture Thesis Survey

Hello, I am currently studying architecture at the Savannah College of Art and Design. The Focus of my thesis is the redesigning of Appalachian Trail Shelters without sacrificing the hiking experience.

Personal experience and research has shown that the existing shelters are in major need of repair, and it is my hopes that the information gathered from this survey will benefit my thesis and provide a resource for the designs of future Appalachian Trail Shelters.

Below is the link to the survey: (estimated time to complete is between 4-8 minutes)

Thank you!

https://adobeformscentral.com/?f=YiaKKZYK25w5o0MtRKpdKA

Journal Entries

All except the Smokies! Well with the exception of Davenport Gap

I don't agree. While spartan, most of the shelters were in good repair.

Journal Entries

While I can only attest to Shelters in the Smokies I've heard more complaints about uncontrollable things like mice and other people

Images

is this serious. last part of survey???? have you been to a shelter ???

Rate the following amenities by how strongly you agree with their addition in future Appalachian Trail Shelters.*
    Strongly Disagree Disagree Neutral Agree Strongly Agree
    Electric Lighting
    Heating / Air Conditioning
    Electric Outlets
    Heated Running Water
    Gas or Electric Stoves
    Lavatories
    Emergency Phones
    I'm so confused, I'm not sure if I lost my horse or found a rope.

These are all amenities I feel do not belong in a shelter, however I have spoken with other hikers that feel it is important to have some of these.