WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Buying a new backpacking tent. Any recommendations?

Hi all,

I am looking into buying a good backpacking tent.

I am a rookie hiker, so I was hoping you all would help direct me to a good tent, or website where I can find a good tent.

I am planning on starting out small with a few weekend hikes here and there, but eventually hope to work my way up to section hiking.

Also, I am hoping the tent would be able to sleep anywhere from 1-5 people within a reasonable price range.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by zcalla20 View Post
    Hi all,

Also, I am hoping the tent would be able to sleep anywhere from 1-5 people within a reasonable price range.

Thanks!
    This last comment will throw you into a flux. Most people here on Whiteblaze will recommend some form of the TarpTent or the Big Agnes Seedhouse or the MSR Hubbas or the new fangled cottage industry poncho-tarp tents or Wild Oasis stuff or maybe even cuben tarps, etc etc. But you'll have to decide real quick which is it gonna be: A single person tent, a two person tent or a tent for 5(!).

On the other hand, Eureka makes great entry level tents in all sizes which you should consider. A 5 man tent won't be carried on a solo trip, period. A large tarp can house five people, or consider a tipi style tent of the old Mt Hardwear Kiva type or the Golite Shangri La thingies. Don't bother with Kifaru due to the expense. Just some thoughts off the top of my peanut sized brain.

Mountian hardware drifter 3 is a great 2 1/2 person tent with big vestibules solid built and won't break the bank. There are many lighter tents but I really like this one.

Quote Originally Posted by Gnatx View Post