WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default Anyone else starting on Jan. 1st?

Hey all, I'm new to this whole forum thing, but I figured I'd register on here to get some support and advice I'm starting my first thru hike on January 1, 2013. Gonna be freezing, I know. Crazy? Maybe. But I'm going to do it, and I'm going to get to Maine. I have a pretty good idea what I'm getting myself into, and I've got my mind set on it. Any tips/advice? Mainly, is anyone else planning on being on the trail any time in January? Cheers.

Images

Lots of old threads on this. Here is one:

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/show...ing+in+January
    Order your copy of the Appalachian Trail Passport at www.ATPassport.com

Green Mountain House Hostel
    Manchester Center, VT

http://www.greenmountainhouse.net

My advice, since you asked, is to start in the spring and finish in the fall instead of starting in winter and finishing in summer.

Good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by Rifle View Post
    .... I have a pretty good idea what I'm getting myself into, and I've got my mind set on it. Any tips/advice?... .
    Does your "pretty good idea" include the black flies and mosquitoes of Northern New England? A January start from Springer puts you at the peak of bug season up there.

There's usually a New Years eve party on top of Springer, so at least you woun't be alone the first night. There will probably even be a few who also start a through hike then, but it will get real lonely, real quick after that.