WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default How does it work when someone makes a custom pack for you?

I'm sending an existing pack for them to duplicate. Do they have to cut up the existing pack to get the measurements? Should I expect them to sew the original pack back together and send it back to me? Do you send payment when you commission the pack, or when you receive the finished product?

I'll talk to the pack maker, I'm just curious as to what the general custom is since I've never done this before.

Why would you need to send them the pack?

Send a bunch of pics, some measurements, and the specs you are looking for.

Send your critical body measurements...any decent pack maker can go from there.

Who are you using?

I really like my Zimmerbuilt and the ZPacks I got recently looks very promising (although I would get the Hybrid fabric if I was to do it again).

-Mark in St. Louis

I'm having the same pack made; they don't manufacture it anymore. I would not trust my measurements of anything except maybe Bisquick pancake mix, and even that's a little iffy.

I would think the only one who can answer those questions is the one making the pack.
    Follow slogoen on Instagram.

Speaking as a custom sewer myself, if you were to ask me duplicate a pack for you, I would first encourage you to make some changes so that I am not violating their Intellectual Property rights. It would also give you a truely custom pack. It is not hard to keep the same basic mesurements (i.e. volume, waistbelt length, shoulder strap height, spacing, and length, etc.) while still giving you a pack custom made for your needs and preferences. If you were to send me a pack, I would not need to cut it up for measurements, I can take my own off it, and add in what I need for seam allowances. I would also send it back when finished.