WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Section Hike - Springer to Unicoi

I'm planning a section hike with one companion in September from Springer to Unicoi Gap. We'll have four full days available to hike this distance which appears to be about 51 miles.

Some other posts I've seen indicate that it could take 3 days to reach Neels Gap (31 miles)? Is this so? Is the terrain that difficult?

I wasn't expecting to bust out 20 miles a day, but I didn't think 12-15 was out of the question. We were actually considering adding the approach trail so we wouldn't finish too early.

I have hiked many times before, just not this part of Georgia, and 15 miles a day has been entirely obtainable in the past for me. Am I being naive about a section of trail of which I have no experience?

Images

Maybe not. For many hikers, the Georgia section is their first experience in mountainous terrain, and it comes as something of a shock. If you can regularly hike 15 miles per day in the mountains, with steep short climbs, then you should be able to hit Gooch Mountain on day 1, Neels on day 2, Low Gap on day 3, and hike out to Unicoi on day 4. Those last two days are shorter. If you want to add the Approach Trail, go for it. That might make it Hawk on day 1, Lance Creek on day 2, Cowrock Mtn on day 3, and out to Unicoi on day 4. Longer days but doable if you're in shape for it.

In any case, there are so many places to bail out that it's not a problem if you don't get all the way to Unicoi, you can easily get a ride to your car. Maybe park at Neels or The Hiker Hostel and just plan to be picked up at the end no matter where that is.
    Ken B
    'Big Cranky'
    Our Long Trail journal

Our plan is to stay at Hiker Hostel on a Thursday night, start hiking Friday AM, and crawl out of the woods on Monday.