Default Hello from Germany

Hey, my name is Silke, I am a 49 year old woman from Germany and will hike the AT next year in June for about three weeks - with a dog. I am looking for a female hiking partner! I am a beginner in hiking and looking for my very own challenge, a dream I am dreaming since I first watched a documentation about the AT. I am facing alot of life changes in the next years and already went through difficult times. Where do I find a middle aged female hiking partner who would like to go with me?

Images

Good luck with your hike. You may want to post on the "Hooking up" forum that you are looking for a partner. Be sure to put what section of the AT you are planning to hike as that may make a difference to perspective partners. People hiking sections usually are looking for a part they have not completed yet. Be aware there are parts of the AT that will not allow a dog so consider that when you decide where you plan to hike. With it being almost a year away people may not know their plans yet so don't get discouraged if you don't get a quick response. Repost as the time gets closer if you haven't found someone. The trail has lots of hikers so don't be afraid of being alone, It's doubtful you'll end up hiking alone for long. Good luck.

Section Hiker

Hi, Silke, welcome! What section are you planning to hike? Like Kizzybean suggested, more details and a post in "Hooking Up" might be a good idea too. I plan to be on the trail in GA next June.

"Your comfort zone is a beautiful place, but nothing ever grows there.
    "

Thank you very much for your nice answers! Because I am flying in from Atlanta, I am planning to hike from the Springer Mountain, its the beginning of the AT in the South , right? You see, I am totally new in everything, thats why I try to get as much information as I can, as early as I can. I feel a little naive still...lol....