WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Roll or Stuff a Tent??

Do you roll or stuff your tent? Which way works the best while hiking?

You may start out rolling, but you'll eventually just stuff and go. Manufactures will tell you to just stuff also as it prevent the tent from developing creases in the same spot which can lead to premature leaking.
    "Hiking is as close to God as you can get without going to Church." - BobbyJo Sargent aka milkman Sometimes it's nice to take a long walk in THE FOG.

Hi, My name is Chris and I used to be a meticulous folder/roller.

I am in recovery though and I have been stuffing for a few years now. With the support of friends and family, I hope to never relapse.

Quote Originally Posted by Ktaadn View Post

I am in recovery though and I have been stuffing for a few years now. With the support of friends and family, I hope to never relapse.
    Ha Ha!! That's really funny Chris!! It took a lot for me not to fold it .. I stuff it now. Never going back either...

Wanna-be hiker trash
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by Kodak-RM View Post
    Do you roll or stuff your tent? Which way works the best while hiking?
    Six of one, half a dozen of the other.

These days i usually fold the tent and fly of my double wall separately and the put them in the front pocket of my pack so that they can dry during the day.
    Colorless green ideas sleep furiously.

Quote Originally Posted by atmilkman View Post
    Manufactures will tell you to just stuff also as it prevent the tent from developing creases in the same spot which can lead to premature leaking.
    I've also heard that, but I'm a roller (I roll around the stakes and the poles) and I've never experienced that problem before it was time to replace the tent because it became technologically obsolete.